## Lake County Economic Development Committee Economic Development Organization Subcommittee Report

The Economic Development Organization Subcommittee was established by the Lake County Economic Development Committee and tasked with reviewing local community and government Economic Development Organization models and making a recommendation of the model that would best fit Lake County.

The subcommittee members were:

Betty Alward, Ellsworth Twp. Treas., Luther Lions Treas.

Matt Bearup, Irons Area Tourist Association, Business owner

Emerson Boles, Mid-Michigan Idlewilders, Pres.

Tony Gagliardo, Webber Twp. Supervisor, Baldwin DDA member

Thom Kaverman, St. Ann's Pastoral Council, Dover Twp. Resident

Matt Krawczak , Lake County Chamber of Commerce member, Business owner

Larry Lewis, Business Development Association of Lake County

Phil Lodholtz, Chase Twp. Trustee, Business owner

Lee Ann Russell, Lake County Chamber of Commerce, Pres., Business owner

Dan Sloan, County Commissioner

Deborah Smith-Olsen, Lake County Chamber of Commerce member, Baldwin DDA member

Mary Trucks, Lake County Economic Alliance, Chair, 5Cap Ex. Dir.

The Subcommittee held four meetings throughout the county (Luther, Yates Twp., Irons and Baldwin). The two primary economic development organization models, one organized under the IRS code (private model) and one organized under statutes of the State of Michigan (government model) were explored and discussed.

Presentations were provided to the Subcommittee by Andy Lofgren, Executive Director of the Newaygo Economic Development Organization (private model) and Anne Hardy, Executive Director of the Oceana County Economic Development Corporation (government model).

The Subcommittee members unaminously recommended the private model. To more fit the specific conditions in Lake County, the Subcommittee recommended that the organization have a large (18-20) board of directors that come from all sectors of the county