Lake County Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

January 15, 2013

1) Call to Order

Meeting was called to order by Chairperson Linda Van Dolsen at 3:30 p.m.

2) Roll Call

Present: Don Arquette, Commissioner Colleen Carrington-Atkins, Jay Grams, Ken Shoemaker (Liaison), Linda Van Dolsen, Gwen Warren, Ernest Wogatzke

Patrick Johnson was absent and excused.

3) Approval of Minutes of October 16, 2012

Motion was made by Don Arquette to accept the minutes seconded by Gwen Warren with the meeting date corrected and one addition: The email from Susan Dennis provided links with recreational planning information. All present were in favor. Motion passed.

4) Correspondence

Chairperson Van Dolsen mentioned two documents. Copies will be made and distributed to the LCPC members:

- USDA, the Farmland and Open Space Preservation Act of 1974.
- A letter from Land Plan, Inc. incorporating comments from Patrick Johnson and others from LCPC

5) Public Participation

None present

6) Old Business

Business Development Survey

Don Arquette provided a listing of townships who responded to the survey. Responses were returned from 4 townships

- Pinora
- Peacock
- Newkirk
- Chase

LCPC is still working on getting the survey's back. Letters will be resent to Township's with new supervisors.

Recreation Plan

New commission members were brought up to date on the activities related to the recreation plan.

7) New Business

Welcome to (3) new appointees and (1) reappointee to the LCPC

Jay Grams, Planning Commissioner

3 year term

Interest – Education

Assigned Townships - Pleasant Plains/Lake

Ernest Wogatzke, Planning Commissioner

1 year term – replacing Craig Davis Interest - Recreation/Tourism Townships - Sauble/Sweetwater

Kenneth Shoemaker, Laision

Townships - Chase/Pinora

Gwen Warren, Planning Commissioner – reappointment

3 year term

Interest - Seniors/Housing

Townships – Yates/Webber

Commissioner Carrington-Atkins mentioned that county commissioner assignments will be finalized at the next commissioner's meeting.

New members received copies of the Lake County Planning Commission Ordinance #25

Chairperson Van Dolsen has requested funds to reprint the Master Plan to distribute to new LCPC commission members and new county commissioners.

Contact Information

Chairperson Van Dolsen distributed contact information updating the LCPC roster to include new members.

Election of Officers

Chairperson – Don Arquette nominated Linda Van Dolsen seconded by Gwen Warren.

All present were in favor.

Secretary – Gwen Warren nominated Colleen Carrington-Atkins. She declined the

nomination.

Don Arquette nominated Patrick Johnson seconded by Gwen Warren. All

present were in favor.

Vice-Chairperson – Don Arquette nominated Colleen Carrington-Atkins seconded by

Gwen Warren. All present were in favor.

- 8) Meeting Adjourned at 4:50 p.m.
- 9) Next Meeting: February 19, 2013 at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Colleen Carrington, Secretary